Persona game artist Shigenori Soejima, Art Works 2 book, releasing this Fall

Udon Entertainment recently announced a new release of famed artist Shigenori Soejima work with Shigenori Soejima & P-Studio Art Unit: Art Works 2.

Shigenori Soejima is best known for his directional artwork in the Persona series of role-playing video games, published by Atlus. He also worked on the Shin Megami Tensei series, CatherineStella Deus (a highly underrated classic), and more.

“This book contains a collection of art that spans around eight whole years, so it gives me a lot to reflect on,” says Soejima. “Whether you’re an old school fan or you recently got into this kind of thing, I’m really thankful that you’re joining me on this journey.”

Filled with amazing visuals from the Catherine and Persona 5 video games, Shigenori Soejima & P-Studio Art Unit: Art Works 2 also includes a bevy of new pieces for other installments in the Persona series and its many spin-offs. Topped off with exclusive, in-depth interviews with the artist himself and the creative team at P-Studio Art Unit.

Udon Entertainment will also bring the long out of print Shigenori Soejima: Art Works 1. This beautiful art book features Shigenori Soejima’s best work from the Persona 3 and Persona 4 games, as well as other projects such as Stella Deus and Momoiro Taisen Pairon. Shigenori Soejima: Art Works 1 also includes an exclusive interview with the artist himself!

Shigenori Soejima & P-Studio Art Unit: Art Works 2 and Shigenori Soejima: Art Works 1 will be released on October 29, 2019.  Both are not available for preorder now.

Shigenori 2

Neon Genesis Evangelion TV animation art book coming to new book shelves soon.

unnamed (24)

News from a recent release for Evangelion fans (myself included)…

Udon Entertainment recently announced a soon to be released hardcover release of Neon Genesis Evangelion TV animation Production Art Collection. Credited with revitalizing the anime industry, Neon Genesis Evangelion infused the genre with incredible depth and emotion, telling the story of a world on the brink of destruction and the teenagers that are tasked with saving mankind.

(See preview pages below)

The Neon Genesis Evangelion TV animation Production Art Collection collects the making of one of anime’s most influential series in the ultimate compendium of behind the scenes and archival design sketches for the 1995 television series, as well as the 1997 theatrical release. Draft artwork of characters, mecha, weapons, vehicles, as well as interior and exterior locations, are supported by the original artists’ detailed design notes. The Neon Genesis Evangelion television series revolutionized anime with its groundbreaking animation, sophisticated storytelling, and dynamic mecha designs. This massive 432-page tome is a must-have for any fan of Neon Genesis Evangelion, animation production, and character design.

The Neon Genesis Evangelion TV animation Production Art Collection will be released in March 2019, with 432 pg, on an 11.75 x 8.25” hardcover, at a suggested retail price of $39.99 USD. Check your local comic store or retail book store for availability.

FLCL Archives, artbook for the anime classic is set for English release

unnamed (6)

Good news for fans of FLCL, Gainax, or experimental anime classics…

UDON Entertainment recently announced the coming release of The FLCL Archives, translated in English for the first time.

FLCL, for those unfamiliar, is a mesmerizing, 6-episode series told at a breakneck pace, produced by studios GAINAX and Production I.G. It featured everything from giant, destructive robots, to a crazy, pink-haired, bass guitar wielding alien woman. Raising the bar to tell complex, fantastic stories in a short episodic run, FLCL’s continued impact on modern anime can still be seen today.

The FLCL Archives collects artwork from this landmark production, including key promotional art, character and location designs, and rough sketches in 248 full color, softcover pages. Early proposal sketches, concept art, and illustrator notes provide incredible insight into the making of this beloved and influential series.

The FLCL Archives will arrive in stores on March 19, 2019. Check with Udon online at www.udoncomics.com for more info.

New Tara McPherson “Wandering Luminations” art book set for 2019

wanderingluminationscov

Recent Dark Horse Publishing news release

Extraordinary illustrations, vibrant colors, and bold fantasies fill the pages of artist Tara McPherson‘s most recent collection of work: Wandering Luminations: The Art of Tara McPherson.

The chaotic wonders of science, mythology, and the power of the feminine form are at the core of the works compiled in Wandering Luminations. This powerful collection showcases the artist’s most recent and ambitious creations from her Wandering Luminations solo exhibition, as well as works from her series of paintings: I Know It By Heart and Supernova.

This is the fourth collected volume of McPherson’s influential art and features paintings, prints, and her most well-known work: rock posters.

The dark, powerful femininity McPherson is known for shines through each page of the high quality, full-color hardback volume set to release in May 1, 2019 and is available for pre-order on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and at your local comic shop.

 

Family Traits: The Fantastic Bestiary of a Father and His Sons, artbook set for 2019

unnamed

UDON Entertainment announced its new release its new hardcover English edition of the critically acclaimed Family Traits: The Fantastic Bestiary of a Father and His Sons  set for early 2019.

Family Traits: The Fantastic Bestiary of a Father and His Sons is the collective creative work of a family passionate about artwork, where animator Thomas Romain adapts the drawings of his two young sons into beautiful watercolor illustrations. Thomas Romain, an artist and animator whose credits include Bodacious Space Pirates, Macross Delta, Space Dandy, and Phoenix Wright spin-off Dai Gyakuten Saiban, discovered that sons Itsuki, age 9, and Ryunosuke, age 10, were following in his footsteps by creating original characters and the worlds they inhabited. A drawing by Ryunosuke provided the spark of collaboration. From there, father and sons began creating characters that showcased their love of adventure, robots, monsters and machines.

Family Traits features dozens of original character designs, creative commentary from both father and sons, rough concepts, bonus illustrations, and more!

unnamed (1)

“I hope that – beyond the newbie and professional artists, beyond the fans of pop-culture and art lovers – this book will simply succeed in gathering around it parents and children,” Romain says. “Devour these few pages with great appetite, let yourselves be drawn in by its playful side – compare the images, choose your favorite characters, amuse yourselves by imagining other scenes, let your imagination run wild!”

Family Traits: The Fantastic Bestiary of a Father and His Sons is set for release on February 26, 2019. Ask for it your local comic store or retail bookstore. For more info, visit UDON at udonentertainment.com.

unnamed (5)unnamed (4)

After ‘Robots and Donuts’ comes ‘Robot Existentialism,’ a new art book by Eric Joyner.

Eric Joyner, the author of the art book Robots and Donuts will release his follow-up book; Robot Existentialism, a new work published by Dark Horse Comics, early next year.

In Robotic Existentialism: The Art of Eric Joyner, vintage toys are paired with pastries to create fascinatingly bizarre paintings. Such will feature the San Francisco-based artist’s newest and most impressive pieces—including The Horseshoe Bend, Daybreak, Movers and Shakers, and more. Much like the subjects of his paintings, Joyner’s artistic style is subtly nostalgic yet imaginatively unique. By juxtaposing familiar items with everyday foods, he creates whimsical masterpieces that have the power to both comfort and inspire.

Joyner’s work has appeared on the popular sitcom The Big Bang Theory, on the cover of Ben Folds Five’s album The Sound of the Life of the Mind, and has been featured at the Corey Helford Gallery for his most recent solo show, “Sweet Dominion,” in 2016. His new book, Robotic Existentialism: offers a collection that “entices the reader to stop, ponder the meaning of life, and perhaps savor a donut or two.”

The hardbound art collection hits bookstores February 21, 2018, and is now available for preorder on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.