The Doomster’s Monolithic Pocket Alphabet set to bring new darkness to shelves…

The Doomster’s Monolithic Pocket Alphabet is coming soon from Image Comics, this November.

This “definitive illustrated lexicon of all things doom,” set as 64 page, full-color, pocket-sized, hardcover book written by Theo Prasidis and illustrated by Maarten Donders, puts a cheeky spin on small illustrated books in the vein of Edward Gorey’s The Gashlycrumb Tinies and Tim Burton’s The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy.

SEE PREVIEW BELOW!

In five decades of wretched existence, doom metal has evolved into a vast orchard of unearthly delights. Bongs, goats, amps and a lot of naked nuns, all collide into this stunningly visualized, whimsical, mature-rated gift book. Explore the genre’s unholy rites with The Doomster’s Monolithic Pocket Alphabet, the definitive illustrated lexicon of all things doom. Or be doomed!

“Watching our beloved genre grow exponentially in popularity over the years, we decided to have a little fun with its clichés and inside jokes. The result is a really special, ultra heavy little book and we cannot wait to show it to the world. November is a time for DOOM!” said Prasidis and Donders.

The Doomster’s Monolithic Pocket Alphabet will bring its doom to stores on Wednesday, November 8th, and in bookstores on Tuesday,

 

Viz Media brings on MANGA IN THEORY AND PRACTICE, by ‘JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure’ creator

Viz Media will soon offer creative insight from JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure creator Hirohiko Araki, with the Manga In Theory And Practice: The Craft Of Creating Manga book.

The new hardcover release features unique instructions on drawing techniques, as well as fascinating explorations of character development, conceptualizing storylines, and scripting dialogue as set forth by Hirohiko Araki, one of the most esteemed creators at work today. Manga In Theory And Practice: The Craft Of Creating Manga will publish in a deluxe hardcover print edition under the Shonen Jump imprint and will carry an MSRP of $19.99 U.S. / $26.99 CAN.

Hirohiko Araki is the author of one of the longest-running and most beloved manga of all-time, the epic fan favorite JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure (also published in English by VIZ Media). According to him, “manga is the ultimate synthesis of all forms of art,” and in this book, he reveals the secrets behind how to make the magic happen using concrete examples from his own work. Read all about his “golden way” of manga: the character histories he draws up for each of the characters he creates, his methodology for storytelling inspired by the great Ernest Hemingway, and many other aspects of manga creation in this how-to guide penned by an industry legend.

“This extraordinary release delivers an in-depth examination of Hirohiko Araki’s complete creative process for his manga, and explores what aspiring manga creators can learn from novelists, fine artists, and filmmakers,” says Nick Mamatas, Editor. “We invite readers to explore this special release, and gain fresh inspiration for their own artistic endeavors.”

Manga creator Hirohiko Araki made his professional debut in 1981 with the Wild West inspired story, Buso Poker. He experimented with several genres, including mystery (Mashonen B.T.) and action-horror (Baoh), before beginning JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure in 1986. Propelled by imaginative storylines, weird imagery and individualistic artwork, JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure is one of the longest-running and most popular shonen manga ever. Araki’s current works include a new series set in the JoJo universe, JoJolion.

Manga In Theory And Practice: The Craft Of Creating Manga will release to stores on June 6th, 2017. For more info, visit VIZ.com.